A Weekend in Singapore

This past weekend I was in Singapore. I needed to head there to renew my visa for Thailand and instead of making a day trip to Cambodia, I figured I might as well make a vacation out of it. Plus, my friends Sean and Dawn from Wanderingwhy were making their way there too so I figured it would be good to meet up with them again. (We spent a lot of time in Thailand together in September. They wouldn’t leave me alone.)

I had always heard Singapore was expensive but it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. It’s a cheaper version of the states and pretty affordable though not in relation to the rest of Southeast Asia.  I ended up spending more than I wanted though because our accommodation wasn’t as cheap as I thought. LP nailed it on the head with their summary but neglected to go into detail about the tiny rooms and huge dorm.

Also, I was surprised at how unclean it was. I expected a city so clean I could eat off the streets but there was trash around! and people chewing gum!!! and no police!!! I guess the fear of the police is enough to keep people in line.  I wanted a bit more of a regimented city but it was still leap years better than the chaos of the rest of Southeast Asia.

Singapore  was a big change from the crowded, dirty, and polluted streets of Bangkok.  The streets are wide, the city clean, everyone moves in a more orderly fashion. It was a little unnerving at first.  I’m used to being crowded and cramped. It took me some good food to relax.  The beauty of traveling with Sean is that he always wants to eat so we went on a mini food tour of the city.

My goals for the trip were simple: See the Zoo and eat lots of food.  After all, I was only there for a weekend.  Oh yeah and get a photo of the Raffles Statue.  I accomplished them all.

The Zoo was amazing. You don’t often travel to see a zoo but the Singapore Zoo is so famous it has to be seen, even if it is a giant money suck.  I loved it. The animals run all over the place and i thought a few monkeys were going to jump towards me. The night Safari was equally as cool and you got to see some cool nocturnal creatures, including dumb tourists who don’t turn their flash off.  The food was super expensive and this whole day cost me more than the other days combined.

Little India rocked. The food was amazing, especially because we got to eat with our hands.  See photo in previous post.  Chinatown had some good food too.  I really wanted to get some Dim Sum but didn’t get a chance while I was there.  Next time.

Singapore has amazing food. Little India, Little Arabia, Chinatown, great high class food- I am going to go back there just to eat. Man! MMMMM and all that ethnic food is cheap too. Singapore is now a foodie favorite of mine.

Last day there, I got to eat delicious Indian food again (though not as good as the first time), photo the raffles statue and the lion statue on the wharf. All and all it was a relaxing weekend.

I’ll post some travel tips and advice on Nomadic Matt’s Travel Site.

I’ll also post some photos here next time. I took a lot for only a 2 1/2 day trip.

Explore posts in the same categories: Travel

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “A Weekend in Singapore”

  1. maliayosh Says:

    i thought singapore was a great food city too… hawker centers are amazing! and singaporeans LOVE to talk about food. my favorite thing to do was to just ask random people (cab drivers, pedestrians, etc) what their favorite food was and where i should go to try some. i got specific instructions from everyone, including the cab driver that walked us up to his favorite place to get “carrot cake” which was delicious, but not the same as the dessert that we call carrot cake. it was sort of like a turnip omelette. yum. and ive had the best indian food of my life in singapore (although i havent been to india, so we’ll see…) glad you had a good trip!

  2. Dave Paek Says:

    Okay, I updated our blog. Read it biatch. Happy Thanksgiving buddy!!!!


Leave a Reply

