Grabbing Hold of My Dream

When I was growing up, I wanted to be an archaeologist.  I guess I watched too many Indy movies.  Then  I decided I didn’t want to be that.  Maybe something with a history degree. Who knows. In college, I decided I wanted to be a teacher. That was my calling. To teach.  After college, I worked in a hospital.  Then I saw the movie the The Corporation. It was an assault on normal corporate practices and a praise for “sustainable business.” Bingo! That’s what I wanted.  Save the world, pad my wallet.  Everyone wins!!!

So I went to get a MBA and something happened.

In 2005, I went to Thailand.  I met people who just lived and enjoyed and didn’t worried.  Here I was- 24, planning my life out, saving for “the future”- what ever that was!, and not happy. I came home. I quit. I traveled.  Though I did finish the MBA- I just hated the thought of wasting all that money already!

No, I’m not sure what I want to do. I like doing a lot of things.  But I do know I never want to work in a cubicle or office ever again. NEVER EVER EVER AGAIN!

I love traveling. I love the web. The sociology of it fascinates me.  Why not combine them? Working from my computer anywhere in the world appeals to me.

It hit me a few days ago. I love what I am doing now. I am just starting to make some money but if this course continues, I’ll be able to make a living.  My face is out there. My name is known.  I have stuff on the way.

So I turned down teaching offers. I am going to concentrate on making my web empire.  I have two people paying now to do SEO for their websites so that brings in a steady paycheck. But I will be my travel empire.

I will be free.

I will have a four hour work week.

I future never seemed better.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

8 Comments on “Grabbing Hold of My Dream”

  1. Nora Says:

    Congrats, Matt! Amazing, isn’t it? I just came to the same realization myself a few days ago. I’m living my retirement dream – and I’m 32 years old. Whoopee!

  2. maliayosh Says:

    i can totally relate as well. i titled my blog the “in between jobs blog” because i was trying out an endless stream of jobs looking for “the one” when somewhere along the way i realized that id prefer to just DO THE THINGS I LOVED DOING and figure out the financial aspects as more of an afterthought. i spent 8 months of this year traveling as a result of it, and have since come back to the “working world” although hopefully it’s just a temporary stint, another “in between” job until i can make it to my next RTW. =) keep chasing those dreams!

  3. Dave Paek Says:

    Can I get a royalty check for introducing you to Xanga that started it all?

  4. Amanda Says:

    Good on you, Matt. Definitely smart to turn the back on the cubicle! Maybe it suits some people (or maybe they’re just kidding themselves). Since I left my “nice secure academic job” and traveled and even now am back home but just doing jobs I love, some people ask me when I’m going to get a real job again … just ignore anyone who asks you the same! They don’t know what living is 🙂


  5. It’s great that you can see a way to make enough money out of what you love doing. The doing what you love is easy, but the making money out of it is the hard work.

  6. Anna Says:

    You’ll never work a day in your life if you love what you’re doing 🙂

    P.S. – London 2009 – Can’t wait!

  7. Christy Says:

    I’d love to figure out how to do that. I could probably do it with graphic design but you’d just have to find the right clients that are willing to work with you almost completely over the net.

  8. Gillian Says:

    I wrote this on my site recently:

    “I’ll share a story. Years ago, my best friend took me to her family’s remote holiday spot. A bucolic location in Desolation Sound called Refuge Cove. There I had many a wonderful time, and met many wonderful people. I soon realized that a couple of these people were some of the most educated people I had ever met. A PhD in English and education ran the coffee shop and bakery with his wife. A PhD in crystal physics ran the local hamburger stand. At the time I thought “what are these people doing here? Why aren’t they off educating people or dazzling the world with their knowledge?”. I still think they are some of the smartest people I have ever met…but now it’s for different reasons.”

    You have to find what makes you tick…and we don’t all get it right the first time! Good on you for keeping looking.


Leave a Reply

