Sometimes, it sounds like braggin

Sometimes when I tell people who I make money I feel like it’s bragging. In fact, I find myself avoiding the subject all together as often as I can. People always want to know what I’m doing now or how I travel so much or make money. Invariably, I give them the short answer- I run travel websites (Or I tell them I do internet marketing). This leads to some follow ups where I tell them I write and run budget travel websites. How do you make money? Is it a lot of work? Is it hard?

And so I go into detail about what I do and how I do it and why I do it. Mostly, that leads to a lot of wows and a bit of jealousy at being able to have a job that pays well and lets me go where I went.

Then they ask me about what I am doing next and I tell them about my travels until I see that look in their eyes where they are waiting for me to stop and I shut up.

My friend Cody (he does this too) and I were talking about how pretty easy our jobs are. I mean a hard day at the office for me is 7 hrs of work. I can go about 3 or 4 days without doing really anything and still mange to find income.  I was staying with Cody for a few days when I first came to bangkok and though we sat on the comptuer pretty much all day, I think I saw him eek out abour 4 hrs of solid work. (facebook and streaming media suck you in!)

But the point is no one really wants to hear about your easy job. I bet most people are more productive on monday than I am in a whole week. So when I start telling people just exactly how my job works and what I do, I’m starting to feel like I’m bragging.

Maybe it is just how I say it but I really dont like talking about it because no one wants to hear about how easy your job is and when i tell people i can see that “i hate you for your easy job” look.

then again maybe its in my head

Explore posts in the same categories: Work

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Sometimes, it sounds like braggin”

  1. Jason Says:

    I wouldn’t consider you bragging. I would actually be jealous and genuinely curious as to how you manage it. Those that consider it bragging our probably those that are upset with their lives, their careers. Rather than feeling empowered, they feel helpless. They are typically ones that aren’t going to try to follow their passion or dreams. That is the majority of the world, unfortunately. Congratulations on your success of doing what you enjoy for a living.


Leave a Reply

