Leaving Bangkok…Again

I’m leaving Bangkok in two days and I’m a bit saddened by it. I was just starting to get into the groove of living here again and now I have to leave. It’s sad. I’ve been Asia since last August and I love it here. Asia is great- I love the crazy feel and the great food and the wild parties and the energy of the area.

Now I have to go home. It’s going to be weird. There’s going to be so many…white people. That’s going to be weird. Lots of white people. I haven’t been around lots of white people in awhile. Moreover, everyone in the starts is going to be going on and on and on about the economy. Blah blah blah. How depressing. I watched ten minutes of CNN and I felt dumber for watching it.

I’m going to be bored too. Every night is a night out in Bangkok but back in Boston, a Tuesday is a Tuesday in front of the tv. Here it is like twenty networking events.

I am excited to eat at all the restaurants I missed back home. Especially taco bell!! Mmmmmm taco bell. Crappy food but yummy. Then all the sushi places, pizza joints, and sub shops. Mmmm yummy.

Also it will be nice to see my friends again and catch up with them. It will be good to see what happened to them in the last year.

I also plan on taking lots of little trips around the country to LA, Seattle, Chicago, and NYC. It’s gonna be fun to take all these little trips.

But until then it’s off to KL for two days before I go to the UK and spend 5 days in Scotland celebrating my birthday next Friday.

Explore posts in the same categories: Personal Life

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Leaving Bangkok…Again”

  1. Xuan Yi Says:

    Halo~
    Ohh… And Im thinking of going to Bangkok~ (=

  2. jan Says:

    how long have you been on the road?
    and why going home now?
    i read your other blog and it seemed as if you wanted to make it your lifestyle.
    i’m living in Thailand since almost two years now i can tell you there are many night in front of the tv, just like back home. maybe because now it’s home here. i think that’s normal. drinking and party lifestyle can be tiring if you do it for years, let alone your liver.

    Thats funny, cause when i returned from my first 18 moth trip i planned to move into a campervan and work from a laptop while crusing along europes beaches. didn’t happen but i can know the feeling.

  3. Josh Says:

    “I watched ten minutes of CNN and I felt dumber for watching it.”

    Haha…Great Line…

  4. Cody Says:

    Don’t be scared by all the white people. haha…

    Have a good trip home man, I am sure I will see you in some random spot in the world again.

    Cheers.

  5. Monna Says:

    Enjoy Scotland, Matt. Happy travels.

  6. Susan Says:

    There’s plenty of networking events in Boston! Have fun in Scotland, it will ease you into hanging out with white people here.

  7. Stephanie Frances Says:

    Just looking over a few of your entries, I’m enthralled. I would love to be able to do something very much the same as you in a year’s time. Hope you have a safe trip. =)

  8. Jenn Says:

    Being from the northeast of the US myself, and moving to Salt Lake City, UT really changes your perspective on where you grew up. I grew up in Connecticut and then moved 2 years ago.

    When I went back, I was immediately miserable. In the northeast everyone is in a hurry to get to their jobs, or run their kids to the 5th activity of the week. It’s all a little too much.

    I don’t know about the priorities or pace of life in Bangkok, but going back to the northeast was a shock to the system (even from the other side of the country).

    But, it will be fun to see all your old friends and family again. And, enjoy Boston for everything it it – its Irishness, the pubs, and the food.

    Cheers,
    Jenn


Leave a Reply

