Switching Gears…

Today I sat down to answer the age old question: How broke am I? Well, it turns out pretty broke. I have a serious problem: I like spending a lot of money……especially on travel. “Ohh you need someone to go to Paris with you? Sure I’ll go!!!”

My location independent lifestyle affords me the ability to do what I want, when I want. So I do that and I end up spending a lot of money. Not so good. I’ve pretty much spent all that I’ve earned this year, which isn’t good. Next week, I meet with my accountant to figure out how I’m going to pay my taxes and what I am going to owe. I’m also going to figure out how to write off my travels as a business expense…I mean after all, I run travel websites and all.

Realizing that if I don’t save any money soon my trip to Europe is not gonna go as smoothly, I’ve decided to shelve some of my trips around the US while I am. I’m going use the fact I’m staying with my parents to really start saving money. No more freewheeling spending. Sticking to the budget.

I leave for Europe on August 23rd and by then I want to save 5,000 dollars as a rainy day fun. That way in case I have any dip in income, I’ll have some money. It’s also a wake up call that, maybe I should go and spend all my money. I’m at the point in life where I should have a savings. I don’t. Maybe it’s time to do one adult thing….

Explore posts in the same categories: money

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Switching Gears…”

  1. Jason Says:

    Matt, I wouldn’t categorize it as an “adult thing.” It’s probably considered an adult thing according to American societal norms, but not to an independent minded individual, set on living their life to the fullest. Look at it as, a step in assisting you to live the way you want to live. If having a rainy day savings is important in order for you to sustain your lifestyle, then work towards accomplishing it. Just don’t consider it the adult thing to do, because that is, in fact, what you, I and few others are trying to escape. That is, in fact, what keeps the majority of individuals in America living a life that isn’t theirs, but rather a life that provides the illusion of acting like an adult, doing the responsible thing, or even living up to the expectations of our colleagues, friends and unfortunately, family.


Leave a Reply

